Archive CSOs Nominate Zonal Representatives to National Confab

CSOs Nominate Zonal Representatives to National Confab


- Advertisment -

Following meetings and widespread consultations, the civil society organizations (CSOs) in Nigeria have reportedly come up with 20 nominees drawn from 5 geo-political zones of the country, who are expected to represent the sector of the proposed national conference. The CSOs in Nigeria were allocated a total of twenty-four slots out of the 492 delegates expected to be at the confab, which is billed to last for three months and take place in Abuja before the next election season. The nominees comprised of four carefully-selected delegates drawn from each of the five geo-political zones including the North-East, North-West, South-East, South-West and the South-South, while the North-Central was yet to provide its own nominees as at the time of filing this report.

The names of the nominees were contained in a report released by the National Working Committee (NWC) comprising six members representing the geo-political zones. The NWC members include Mr. Mohammed Bougei Attah, of the World Association of NGOs, Kaduna (chairman); Dudu Manuga of Responsible Citizenship and Human Development Initiative, Gombe; Executive Director of Niger Delta Budget Monitoring Group (NDEBUMOG), port-Harcourt, Rivers state, Mr. George-Hill Anthony; Executive Director of the Civil Society Legislative Advocacy Center (CISLAC), Abuja, Mr. Auwal Musa Rafsanjani; Mr. Ayo Adebusoye of the Nigeria Network of NGOs (NNNGOs), Lagos; and Gabriel Odom of the Agape Foundation for Literacy & Rural Development, based in Abakaliki; Ebonyi state.

Nominees from the North-East geo-political zone include Sunday Simon of Kiferu Youth and community Development Initiative, Bauchi; Alhaji Baba Shehu of Nigeria Cassava Growers Association (NCCGA), Damaturu; Dudu Manuga of RCHDI, Gombe; and Gimba Joseph of Centre for Peace Education and Community Development, Jalingo.

North-West group of nominees include Hajia Aisha Ahmed of Murna Foundation, Katsina; Dr. Lydia Umar of Gender Awareness Trust, Kaduna; Mohammed Attah of WANGO (Nigeria Chapter), Kaduna; and the last nominee deferred.

South-East zone has Chris Nwadigo of People’s Rights Organization, Aba; Gabriel Odom of Agape Foundation for Literacy & Rural Development, Abakaliki; Raymond Onyegu of Socio-Economic Rights Initiative, Enugu; and Mr. Emeka Ononamadu of Citizens Center for Inegrated & Rights, Owerri;

South-west zone comprises Ayodele Adebusoye of NNNGOs, Lagos, Dr. Tola Winjobi of CAFSO-WRAG for Development, Ibadan; Prof. Albert Ilemobade of Upline Resources Foundation, Akure; and Ms Moji Florence Akinsanya of Commonwealth Women’s Org Nigeria, Abeokuta.

By: Mayowa Adeniran


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news

JONAPWD-LAGOS Commends Sanwo-Olu For Restoring Disability Empowerment Fund

Kenneth Afor |  The Joint National Association of Persons Living With Dissabilities (JONAPWD ) in Lagos state has commanded Babajide...

Groups Call On Judicial Panels Of Inquiry To Dispense Justice On Victims, Survivors Of Police Brutality

Kenneth Afor | The Network on Police Reform in Nigeria (NOPRIN) and Centre for Law Enforcement Education (CLEEN Foundation) has...

COVID-19 Second Wave: FG Urged To Ban Flights From Britain, Others

By Ijeoma Ukazu | With some countries currently experiencing the spread of the new COVID-19 variant, the Health Writers’ Association...

“I am not distracted by calls for 2023 presidential race” — Yahaya Bello

Kogi state Governor Yahaya Bello has said calls for him to contest in the forthcoming 2023 presidential election is...

AfDB Provides $25m To Boost Low-Carbon Energy Generation

The African Development Bank’s Board of Directors on Monday, December 14, 2020 approved $15 million from the Sustainable Energy...

Civil Defence Receives COVID-19 Testing Equipment

The Commandant General, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, Abdulahi Gana Mohammadu on Friday in his office received Covid...

Must read

JONAPWD-LAGOS Commends Sanwo-Olu For Restoring Disability Empowerment Fund

Kenneth Afor |  The Joint National Association of Persons Living...
- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: