Archive Fourteen Journalists, Ogan and Odinkalu for the Wole Soyinka...

Fourteen Journalists, Ogan and Odinkalu for the Wole Soyinka Award


- Advertisment -

poster2The board of judges for the 2013 Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting, led by Prof Lai Oso, Dean, Lagos State School of Communication has named 14 finalists for this year’s award. They are: Elijah Olusegun ofNational Standard Magazine; Ayoola Kassim of Channels Television; Adeyemi Adesomoju of The Punch Newspaper; Toyosi Ogunseye of The Punch Newspaper; Ini Ekott of Premium Times; Asukwo Bassey ofBusinessDay Newspaper; Tobore Ovuorie of Premium Times; Temiloluwa Bamgbose of Flair Nigeria; Ruona Agbroko of Premium Times; Stanley Ogidi of The Punch; Aderonke Ogunleye of Premium Times; Temitayo Famutimi of The Punch; Bassey Udo of Premium Times and Ese Grage of Flair Nigeria.

The two honorary awards; the Lifetime award for journalistic excellence and the Anti-corruption defender award will be presented to Ms. Amma Ogan, first female editor at the Guardian and Dr. Chidi Odinkalu, Chair of the National Human Rights Commission, respectively.

Amma Ogan is being honoured with the Lifetime award for journalistic excellence for her invaluable contribution to media excellence in Nigeria while the Anti-corruption defender award is being awarded Chidi Odinkalu for his integrity, hard work, unconcealed crusade for the enthronement of human rights and his dogged stance against corruption.

Winners, runners-up and commended works will be announced at a public award presentation ceremony scheduled for Monday 9 December 2013 at the NECA main hall, opposite Afrika shrine, Agidingbi, Ikeja Lagos at5pm.

Professor Wole Soyinka, WSCIJ’s Grand Patron; Dr. Andrew Pocock, the British High Commissioner to Nigeria; Rt Hon Rotimi Ameachi, Rivers State Governor; Prof Ropo Sekoni, WSCIJ Board Chair are some of the guests expected at the event which is supported with funding from the Rivers State Government and the British High Commission.

Admittance to the event is open to members of the public.


The Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting was first held in October, 2005 to encourage the development of an investigative tradition in the Nigerian media through rigorous scrutiny of human rights violations, regulatory failures and corruption in the public and corporate sectors of the nation’s life and has so far rewarded 59 finalists.


In 2012, the Centre introduced an entry coding system, which attempts to make the details of media house and reporter’s by-line anonymous to judges to further strengthen the judging process and perhaps increase the credibility of the award programme. Now, each entry bears a code in the place of media house and entrant’s details along with the story title.


The WOLE SOYINKA CENTRE FOR INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM (WSCIJ) is a non-governmental organisation with a vision to stimulate the emergence of a socially just community defined by the ethics of inclusion, transparency and accountability through support to journalists. Initially known as the Wole Soyinka Investigative Reporting Award (WSIRA), the change in name became necessary in 2008 to reflect the intentions of the coordinators to embrace a more robust line of activities that have greater capacity for engendering the right values of investigative journalism in the Nigerian media. The Centre is named after Professor Wole Soyinka in recognition of his life-long work in support of the freedom of expression, freedom to hold opinion, and freedom to impart them without fear or favour and without hindrance or interference.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest news

Let’s Record Zero Crime During Your Stay – Yahaya Bello Tasks New Army Commandant

Kogi State Governor, His Excellency Yahaya Bello has charged the new Commandant of the Nigerian Army Records, Chari Megumeri...

Our Security Template Focuses On Communal Collaboration, Honesty, Synergy – Gov. Bello

….says he doesn’t visit Abuja for solution to security challenges Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello has revealed that the successes...

2021 World Education Day: ActionAid Nigeria Calls For Increase Allocation To Education From 15% – 20%

As the World marks the 2021 International Education Day, a Non-Governmental Organization, (NGO), ActionAid Nigeria, has called for an...

COVID-19: Bill Gates backs Yahaya Bello’s position on need to invest in healthcare

Mayowa Adeniran|  The recent position of one of the world's richest, Bill Gates, has corroborated the agitations of Kogi State...

JONAPWD-LAGOS Commends Sanwo-Olu For Restoring Disability Empowerment Fund

Kenneth Afor |  The Joint National Association of Persons Living With Dissabilities (JONAPWD ) in Lagos state has commanded Babajide...

Groups Call On Judicial Panels Of Inquiry To Dispense Justice On Victims, Survivors Of Police Brutality

Kenneth Afor | The Network on Police Reform in Nigeria (NOPRIN) and Centre for Law Enforcement Education (CLEEN Foundation) has...

Must read

Let’s Record Zero Crime During Your Stay – Yahaya Bello Tasks New Army Commandant

Kogi State Governor, His Excellency Yahaya Bello has charged...

Our Security Template Focuses On Communal Collaboration, Honesty, Synergy – Gov. Bello

….says he doesn’t visit Abuja for solution to security...
- Advertisement -

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

%d bloggers like this: